Skip to content

Introductions

January 19, 2010
tags:

Hello,

I am an Anne, a part-time do-gooder, full-time wife and mother who obsessively makes lists. I am a super organized, type-A, old soul who understands unconditional love since becoming a mother. I grew up in New Mexico and currently live in Minnesota. I like the pace of live in the midwest and the sensibility of the people, but deep down I connect better with hispanic culture than with Scandinavian. I make tamales every Christmas, prefer enchiladas to hot dish, and listen to salsa music while I knit. I am a former math teacher who factors telephone numbers on billboards in my head while driving. I am the wife of my best friend and am blessed to be the mother of my amazing son.

I have two very strong sides to my personality – the logical side and the creative side. I am a math nerd who delights in the absolution that solving a math problem provides. BUT, I also have this really creative force inside of me that yearns to get out. I express that through my decorating, knitting, parenting, wardrobe and now, through my writing.

I decided to start a blog for several reasons. I wanted to have a pastime to entertain myself. I wanted something that was uniquely mine, for better or for worse. And, I wanted a creative outlet that allowed me to be a little techie too. Lastly, I wanted to see if I was any good ~ at writing, at decorating, at sticking with something challenging.

Thank you for reading along. I hope that others glean some joy from my blog.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 9:47 am

    Once I gleaned, wheat me thinks. Pounded the good stuff on a rock and then baked bread. I love your daily blog.

  2. Linda C. permalink
    January 19, 2010 9:53 am

    Yes, you are all of those things and good at so many!

  3. Keryl permalink
    January 19, 2010 10:00 am

    Wow! You factor numbers while driving? I usually try to make smaller words out of letters that make up the states shown on license plates. LOL!

    What’s “hot dish?”

    • January 19, 2010 4:29 pm

      Hot dish is basically casserole, but in MN they call it hot dish.

      • Keryl permalink
        January 20, 2010 8:35 am

        Oh, OK. I guess that does use few syllables than “casserole” does.

  4. Sherry Reid permalink
    January 19, 2010 4:08 pm

    Your creativity is evident through your writing. It’s bright, happy, clever, descriptive, uplifting AND useful! Keep it coming. Sherry:-)

  5. Sherry Reid permalink
    January 19, 2010 4:23 pm

    P.S.-Your idea for organizing necklaces gave me a way to use my mother’s Circa ’30’s small glass rods for towels. Now if I can just find them!! Sherry

  6. Eugene D. Bear permalink
    January 19, 2010 8:24 pm

    Lovely indeed.

  7. steven permalink
    January 20, 2010 8:28 am

    So you’re saying that with your math skills and your creative side, you’re like artsy rain man

Leave a Reply

