Skip to content

KISS: Lazy + Lowe’s = Light

January 15, 2010

I am lazy. I know my mom reads this blog and can attest to that. I, myself, prefer the term low-energy. As a low-energy person, I am always looking for ways to make our home more functional for the way we actually live. I, for instance, like to read in bed from time to time. I needed a light next to the bed that would allow me to do that with minimal eye strain.

This sconce from JC Penney fit the bill. It has a cord, so it didn’t have to be hardwired and you can tilt the shade from side to side so the light shines directly where you want it to. Perfect – almost. The switch for the light is at the very top of the fixture. This means when I am finished reading and am starting to drift off to sleep, I have to get out of bed to turn it off. That is inconsistent with my lazy low-energy lifestyle; getting up would disrupt my developing REM patterns. I found a solution at Lowe’s.

Some of you may have been aware of this product. Afterall, the pictures on the packaging seem to be circa 1989. For me, this was a revelation. I simply plug this gadget into the wall outlet and then plug my light fixture into it. Like Harry Potter magic, it turns the entire metal part of my sconce into a light switch. Now, I can touch the bottom tip of the sconce and it turns off. Plus, it acts as a 3-way dimmer, allowing me to adjust the light to the ideal level based on the time of day and my needs. This thing is like the clapper without the geriatric stereotypes. Best part, it was less than $10! Awww…I love cheap and easy solutions.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 15, 2010 7:00 am

    Low energy? Maybe. Creative? Always

  2. Mom permalink
    January 15, 2010 7:23 am

    Cheap, never……inexpensive, sure!!!!

  3. January 15, 2010 8:17 am

    Brilliant! Lazy people are the world’s best inventors, able to be still in the moment – or something like that.

  4. January 15, 2010 4:14 pm

    “Missy”, you can’t be this creative and lazy too!!! By the way, tell Mom to send me her email. Mine never get through to her. Can we do this:-) ?? Sher

Leave a Reply

