Skip to content

Thoughtful, Aromatic and Tasty

January 13, 2010

For Christmas this year, darling hubby once again did an awesome job of giving thoughtful gifts that don’t break the bank. In my stocking this year, I found two baggies filled with dried herbs. At first, I thought hubs might have watched too many episodes of “Weeds” until I noticed a recipe typed on a piece of paper. The herbs were in fact peppermint leaves and licorice root.  Darling hubby had bought me the ingredients to try to recreate my beloved Aveda tea.

Even though I am not historically a tea drinker, I LOVE the tea Aveda serves at each of its salons. Mostly because the flavor of Aveda’s tea is like nothing I have had before. My favorite part is the slight sweetness that lingers after each swallow. But, at $14 for 20 bags, the stuff can get pricey. Darling hubby went online, found a recipe, found a health food store selling fresh herbs and surprised me with the ingredients in my stocking on Christmas morning. How thoughtful is that?

I have to admit that the homemade version is not an exact match, but it is close. It is a little stronger than the Aveda tea, but it has the same sweet die-down that I like so much. Give it a try & let me know what you think.

Aveda-like Tea

  • 1-1/4 C Licorice Root
  • 1 C Peppermint Leaves
  • 1/8 C Fennel
  • 1/8 C Basil Leaves

Four ingredients, simple as that. It makes a big batch. I should get at least 40 cups out of it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mike permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:29 am

    I’ve noticed quite a few nice comments concerning hubby. Must really be quite a fella. Perhaps he has a prediction about the Vikings/Cowboys game this weekend. Lite ’em up Brett.

  2. Linda C. permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:59 am

    I probably won’t try,but when I visit you all, perhaps I can then! In the meantime, I’ll stick by good ‘ole West Texas iced tea!

  3. Eugene D. Bear permalink
    January 13, 2010 12:44 pm

    Yum. You might like an old favorite of mine, T n’ Spice. Tell darling hubby to try Cost Plus.

  4. steven permalink
    January 14, 2010 8:12 am

    All these nice things Eric is doing……something is afoot 🙂

Leave a Reply

