Skip to content

Let There Be Lit – The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

January 4, 2010

I love to read. At least, I did pre-kids. Now, much like root touch-ups, reading doesn’t happen as often as I would like. However, if I tell the WWW that I am reading a book and set a hard deadline to finish, I might move from longingly flipping through pages at Barnes & Nobel to a *gasp* READER. So, my friends, I present “Let There Be Lit”. The first Monday of each month, I will post a review/comments/ramblings about a book I have read, and I will commit to a book for next month. To keep it decorate-y, the first Tuesday of every month I will post a virtual room inspired by the book. Viola! Welcome to my humble book club. Feel free to read along and post your own comments.

The first book is The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. I kind of cheated on this selection because I actually read the book sometime ago. But, hey, I am starting my first blog so I request a little slack. Back to the literary selection at hand…My day job is working for a humane organization as a volunteer coordinator. Why do I work at an animal shelter? Because I love animals, of course. But, I am also a mom to a 3-year-old boy (read ball of energy with no direction or containment) so a book has to be really well-written to enable me to get to the end before I forget what happened at the beginning. This book is one I won’t forget. Mostly because of Enzo, a dog who now holds a place in my animal-loving heart. Having a story narrated by a canine is a fantastic way to tell a story; Enzo’s observations about his family are poignant, reminding me how much a part of a family animals are. The story has a lot of race car driving lingo and info in it. I am not a NASCAR girl, but I managed to stumble through the technical parts because the story was so lovely. Be forewarned, this is a tear-jerker! That said, I would cry along with it again for a second read, which is saying something.

Next month: A Stopover in Venice by Kathryn Walker.  And, check back tomorrow to see the virtual living room I designed for Denny and Enzo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

