Skip to content

Drop Cloth Decorating

June 4, 2010

The web is alive with ideas of how to use common canvas drop cloths found at any hardware store for cheap, chic decorating.  Drop cloths are the perfect material choice for lots of projects because they are thick, organic, neutral and washable.  Here are some of my favorite ideas for uses for the common cloth.

How about as a casual tablecloth?  Here The Vintage Chica added a little stitching to a basic drop cloth to turn it into an easy table cover.  The great thing about drop cloths is that they are pre-hemmed and come in a variety of sizes.

Here they are as curtains, courtesy of Layla from The Lettered Cottage

I liked this look so much, I hung them in my own bedroom.  I used simple clips to hang them from my rod, avoiding any sewing.

Here, a drop cloth finds life as a chair cushion cover.  I love the ruffles and ties – so feminine! (Image courtesy of http://sweetcottagedreams.blogspot.com/)

Finally, look how great drop cloths look covering a whole sofa.

Didn’t Jennifer from http://www.wheretheheartisblog.com/ do a great job on her first slipcover?  And imagine the money she must have saved over traditional fabric from a store.  I love this look for a beachy cottage.

These ideas have me so inspired, that I am actually cooking up a drop cloth project of my own.  Hopefully, if all goes according to plan, I will be able to share in the next couple of weeks.

I’ll keep you posted!

~ Anne

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    June 4, 2010 7:51 am

    I am very interested in learning more about your project. Keep me updated. You are inspiring me to be a little more artistic. I love the pictures on here but it never would have occurred to me to do anything with a drop cloth.

  2. Steven permalink
    June 4, 2010 7:56 am

    I like the curtains quite a bit. Think they look really sharp

  3. Keryl permalink
    June 4, 2010 9:07 am

    I particularly like the chair cushion covers.

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  4. sherry permalink
    June 4, 2010 1:54 pm

    What a great idea! I think I could do something creative in my teenager’s bedroom with this tip. Thanks so much! Look forward to seeing what you do.

  5. Mike permalink
    June 5, 2010 10:13 pm

    Sent to you on the new iPad. All good, especially curtains

  6. February 7, 2013 9:48 pm

    drop cloth decorating was a great idea..i love those pictures especially chairs…

  7. christina permalink
    April 24, 2013 5:23 pm

    love this, i need more info to make these :)

Trackbacks

  1. Finding Your Inner Picasso (or how several mishaps can lead to something awesome) « Live, Love, Decorate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

